Staying in Bed (poem)

Sun seeps through the windowpane,
washes the room, turns colors white.
Dust motes appear suddenly,
funny how I almost never see them.

Why is my back filled with knots?
Were they all there yesterday?
I can’t reach them myself.
Try just lying here peacefully.

I need to breathe better.
In and out, in and out.
There, isn’t that easy?
I feel myself dozing off…

What? Streeettttccchhhh!
Feels good, but the knots are still there.
That thing that happened Tuesday,
ugh, why? No, not now.

Today is a new day.
Love thinking that phrase,
whispering it even.
Today I am brand new.

I’m not brand new.
Shouldn’t be upset about that.
Good to change, of course.
Who would argue?

It’s been too long.
Feel myself beginning to sweat.
Ok, ok, ok. Ahhhh……
Uuuuuupppppppp!!!

 

Leave a comment